I want a Pre-War ANYTHING!!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This site has me jonesing for a Pre-War Schwinn or anything else so bad! I want a frame that I can build up into a cruiser.
I am watching a Pre War Schwinn frame on Ebay right now but being a newbie I am unsure if the price is right :x
How hard are Pre-War bikes to find out in the wild? Would I be better off looking on the 'bay or in the classifieds here rather than searching junkyards? How is the rarity of pre-war bikes compared to Pre-War automobiles? Thanks for any replies.

Im new here also, but from what Ive seen so far (and Im sure Ill be corrected if Im wrong). Pre war bikes seem fairly easy to come by. Id recommend looking in the classifieds here. They are constantly being added to. Ebay seems to be way over priced. Craigslist can be your best friend or your worst enemy when looking for bikes. Just seems like Craigslist is different depending on your part of the country. There is a whole thread about Craigslist thats quite entertaining.
But between here and Craigslist I would say you can find a resonable deal on a pre-war bike no problem.

ksshane said:
But between here and Craigslist I would say you can find a resonable deal on a pre-war bike no problem.

+1

Avoid eBay for a "quick buy", odds are you will really over pay. And make sure you know your stuff when buying on CL, a lot of inflated prices there as well (at least around here).

Members selling here with good feedback tend to be fair in their pricing so as not to price gouge a fellow forum member.

Yup, good things come to those who wait.

I'd buy from someone here on RRB before EBay. I've bought two great frames here for decent prices. One is my '36 Seminole.

Hope you find one soon.