Trying to Find my Grandfather's Bike

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,
I hoping to track down my Grandfather's bike in this picture (the one on the right) to restore it. Unfortunately, I'm no expert in vintage bikes and am not sure what model it is or who made it. Here's what I do know. The picture was taken in 1945, he bought it in Illinois, and it was Dark Blue and white. Any help identifying it would be great. And once I do know what it is, if you guys have any suggestions on where I could find one, I'd really appreciate that too. Thanks!
photo1_zpse03346b9.jpg.html

i could be wrong but i believe those were called whizzer motorbikes built by Schwinn i believe.
i think there was also one called a motobike.
i would go with those 2
sean

i could be wrong but i believe those were called whizzer motorbikes built by Schwinn i believe.
i think there was also one called a motobike.
i would go with those 2
sean
Thanks Sean! He had mentioned that it wasn't always that way. Whatever bike he had he took to a place where they added it on. Im hoping to find whatever bike it is that he had modified with the Whizzer

The one on the left looks like a Shelby with the hidden springer. One on the right looks like it might be an Elgin. The Whizzer motors were sold as kits and could be attached to most any bike. Schwinn did make special frame to be used with the motors. Whizzer also had their own frames and sold complete motorbikes.

The one on the left looks like a Shelby with the hidden springer. One on the right looks like it might be an Elgin. The Whizzer motors were sold as kits and could be attached to most any bike. Schwinn did make special frame to be used with the motors. Whizzer also had their own frames and sold complete motorbikes.