Stretched RatRod Crusier

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first build on RRB. I found this Micargi Mustang at a yard sale

i.ashx

It was a little rusty and missing parts but i loved the shape of the frame. At first I wanted to turn it into a Trike but realized since I don't have a truck I would have a hard time taking it places.

i.ashx

i.ashx

I tore it down and cleaned the rust off of the chrome and figured out what i wanted to keep and change. The rims had several broken spokes and it is missing the chain guard.

i.ashx

i.ashx

The tires were dirty but in good shape so i cleaned them and put then on the new heavy duty wheels

i.ashx

Putting it back together. New bearings, chain-ring, chain and pedals complete the drive new drive train. I also added a set of street sweeper fenders.

i.ashx

i.ashx

We own a decal business so I made myself a set of pinstripe graphics for the fenders. I thought for this build i would go for the Vegas look. I used dog collar spikes as the bolts holding the fender mounts.

i.ashx

i.ashx

Changed the bars to ape hangers. As I was taking these pictures a guy on a fat tire chopper drove buy and stop to ask about this bike. I guess it is going in the right direction.

My next steps are to work on the seat and tank plate.

That's looking really good. I'm thinking of putting a banana seat on my stretch. I already have a laid back seat post but need to sit even further back.

My wife is convinced this one needs a banana seat and sissy bar. I am about 5'8" and I don't think I can sit any farther back.

I have some leather left over from a steampunk project, that I may use to reupholster the seat. I want it to look like an Indian Bobber seat with hand stitched edges. I may try also my hand at using a soldering iron to burn an image into the leather.