Skip tooth chain revisit

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've searched the forum and have read previous threads related to breaking a skip tooth chain. I'm not having any luck with one at the moment, so thought I'd ask once again. Mine has a master link. The plates are clearly different than the other links; more oval than "figure eight" in shape. I've never worked with a skip tooth master link before and I am not sure which plate is the male and which is the female side. Regardless, flexing the links sideways (perpendicular the the long axis of the chain) doesn't seem to move the pins much, and I still can't tell the male and female sides of the link. No amount of prying against the plates with a screw driver, grunting, mouth position, tongue in or out, or foul language has convinced this little item to give up the grip it has on the rest of the chain (and me). Thus, at the same time I apologize for asking this question again, I wonder if anyone has any words of wisdom or if magically a new trick for opening the master link has been discovered since the previous threads related to the same topic.

Thanks for any help/advice.

Cliff

I borrowed a chain break tool from a co-worker who plays with go-karts. It is made for larger chains than bicycle, but at the end of it's adjustment it worked on the ST master, pushed the pin right out. The pin looked the same on both ends when I got it out.

jerrykr said:
I borrowed a chain break tool from a co-worker who plays with go-karts. It is made for larger chains than bicycle, but at the end of it's adjustment it worked on the ST master, pushed the pin right out. The pin looked the same on both ends when I got it out.