rebuilding wheel/hub Is it practical ?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
Excuse me if I sound clueless, I am new to bike building and am building a 1950's 26" bike for my 12 year old, it has coaster brake now with 1.75 wheels, I have several 3 speed 1 3/8" wheels, Naturally he wants wider tires, and a 3 speed. My questions are;
1) Is there a 3 speed coaster brake available (26") or,
2) is it practical to take the 3 speed hub from the 1 3/8" wheel and re-spoke it to the 1.75 wheel
3) what tire sizes can I run on the 1.75 wheels
4) I also have several 2.125 wheels, is that a better option, are the spoke counts the same on most wheels, or am I fishing for something that aint there.

Hope these are not stupid questions, Rick

no questions are stupid :mrgreen:
you can take a 3 speed of your choice and lace it into the 26x1.75's(as long as the hubs and hoops are the same spoke count e.g. 28 into 28 hole wheel or 36 into 36 hole wheel.........)as for the wheels(26x1.75's)they will take a 26x2.215 tire without any problems(the new schwinns come with the thinner wheels but have balloons on them) now are you looking for a hub w/o a cable shifter? or does it matter?(you could probably find a cheap 3 speed at a thrift store)
hope any of this helps...

Sensor pretty much nailed it. Also consider you will need a coaster brake for most older frames unless you are able to run rim brakes.

Thank you, I guess I am on the right track. What I have are several cable run 3 speeds, Freewheeling, Can I have coaster brakes with a 3 speed ? Where are those found (newer bikes, brands, etc.), Rick

yes you can get 3 speed coasters........my wife insisted on having her old wheels off her huffy mtb on her typhoon......