Newbie Here

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been checking out this board for a while now and there is a lot of great information on it. So I finally decided to register. My brother and I are fixing up an old Schwinn for him right now but I had a question about a different bike I picked up. I found an Electra New Belgium cruiser for sale for a good deal. It is in great condition except for the fact that the person that put it together was a moron! I have found all sorts of things not done right but I have a couple of questions I hope you could help me with.

1. The springer fork does not look like it was put on right. I will try and describe this the best I can.... where you put the wheel on the fork you have the main part that is the fork but you also have the other bars that start on the inside and are not forked shaped but rather loops. Do the bars with the loops go on the inside or outside of the forks? I know that is probably not the right terminology......

2. Secondly the bike is really hard to peddle compared to my other cruisers. When I flip it upside down and spin the back wheel it does not spin for very long and it moves the peddles a little bit while it is turning. I am thinking the rear hub is messed up or needs to be taken down and rebuilt. Any ideas?

By the way here are a couple of pics of my new toy.

Thanks,

Eric

DSC02652.jpg

DSC02653.jpg

Welcome!

Nice bike. The struts should be on the outside of the fork legs, so it looks like they are incorrect. As for the rear wheel, it sounds like the axle is too tight. Also the chain could be too tight if the pedals keep moving a little bit. I would move the back wheel up a little bit and see if that solves the problem.

Thanks for the info Ratina! I thought the springer fork was on wrong so I switched it around last night.