new here

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to this scene, sort of.

I'm 30, live outside Denver, and am a bicycle nut. I mainly ride flatland and old school BMX bikes, but I really want to do a few customs. For those outside of Denver, be envious of us. We have a weekly themed pub crawl centered on bicycles and costumes called Denver Cruisers. Anywhere from 300-1000 people show up each wednesday. In full costume. Ride from bar to bar, then participate in a giant thing called the circle of death. Basically 200 people riding at different speeds in a circle, in both directions. Most are on cruisers.

So I want to build 2 bikes. A 20" BMX style bike, built in the normal beach cruiser style. Except BMX forks, bars, wheels, etc. But I want to use mountain bike hubs laced to 20" wheels, so I can add disk brakes. Should be rideable like a bmx, easily maneuverable in traffic in the circle of death, yet still fits the idea of a cruiser. Should be easy to build, just need the right frame, then shorten some mountain bike forks and widen the rear chainstays.

Then I want to build a full custom. I want something long and low, still in the style of a cruiser, but like a mix rat rod/chopper/cruiser. So I drew this up. Ignore how the back part of the wheel is cut off, I started at the edge of the page and drew forward, and didn't plan on adding wheels, so it came out chopped off.

IMG00049-20100210-1759.jpg

The downtube would be one piece from the headtube to the seatpost. The top tube would be two pieces. Where to begin? I don't know but I have til May to get it done. I'd also like to make it belt drive instead of chain, though I don't know if that is possible with the length of what this will end up being.