JonTheGun's budget build!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So here's the story. I graduated in the spring, moved back home with my parents, couldn't find a job, had no money and a lot of time.
I had a load of bike parts lying round in my garage so I decided to be pro-active and build a new bike.

I started with a Mongoose Villain BMX frame and went from there. I cut all the break lugs and stuff off and took off some of the nasty chrome.
Picture011-4.jpg

The cobbled together some parts for the crank and found an old 44t Profile Racing sprocket.
I used the forks and a load of other bits of a rubbish 26" mountain bike.
Picture007-4.jpg

The headset was a bit tricky because of the size difference between BMX and mountain bike stuff, but I bodged it enough to work pretty smoothly!
Picture019-2.jpg

Then I retrimed an old BMX saddle in some check material.
Picture005-1.jpg

I found some cool Kawasaki Spectra Motor Bike handle bars, they were super cheap and they look awesome. So I sanded them down to give them a satin look.
Picture015-3.jpg

I also had to buy a new rear hub as I didn't have any lying around, so I took both the wheels apart sprayed the rims red and laced the wheels back together, always a fun job!
Picture020-1.jpg

Picture031.jpg

Picture023.jpg

I found a big fat motor bike chain I could use.
Picture017.jpg

I didn't have any seat posts that would swept back far enough for my liking so I made one from some BMX handle bars.
Picture048.jpg

Then I decided that the check trimmed BMX saddle wasn't really right for the bike so I scrapped some penny's together and splashed out on a Brooks sprung seat.
Picture046.jpg

And there it is, the finished artical.
Picture054.jpg

Picture055.jpg

Picture059.jpg