Hello from Loowavul Kentucky!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
HI everyone. My name is Daniel, and I am a wandering hobbyist; known for diving into a new hobby, and exiting with a half dozen non-completed projects and a closet full of parts.

My new hobby has been trikes. picked up my first one, an older Trailmate Desoto Classic, as payment for a side job. I've been a fan of trikes from way back, having ridden them at an air filter factory while we were doing electrical work around the building. There they used Schwinn Meridians.

Knowing that my lovely wife would have a problem bringing home another project, I talked my way into convincing her that WE liked at needed it; and although it worked, somewhere in translation it became HER trike.
Fair enough. There are others to pursue.

This led me to purchasing a used 24"Meridian off of Letgo for $90. I'm no wheeler dealer, and for what the landscape was pricing used trikes at in my area, it was a great deal to me.
Alas, it was a bit small for my intentions. Visions of a low rider wouldn't fly here, as the seat post is over the pedals like a bicycle, and the seat had to be raised rather high to pedal comfortably.
Trike #2: the early birthday present for my youngest son.

My son is 5'8", I am 5'9", so he was having the same problem as I was having. The higher seat wasn't a big deal to him; but reaching the bars and all around comfort was a bit of a pain for him. By this time, I have done some research on my next trike, and happened upon a picture of a red Meridian with an old Western Flyer banana seat. BAM! ordered a seat off of eBay, and now my son's woes are gone. He is enjoying riding his trike now!