Handlebar/Stem/headset question

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I am swapping out the handlebars on my Electra Lux 3i, and I've encountered some problems that I hope someone can help me with.

First off, the handlebars were too narrow for my stemclamp, no biggie, I'll swap out the stemclamp I thought.
So, it turns out my stem(clamp) is a one-piece that connects to the steerer tube or fork. So what do I have to do? I was looking at clamps and stems and stuff online, but I can't find a stem (without clamp), so that I can buy the clamp of my choice. Are these just not sold?

I wanna get a stem, and a separate BMX style clamp, but I am at a total loss here. I am pretty new to the whole bike scene, so I'm sorry if this all sounds really stupid.

I'd really appreciate it if anyone could enlighten me.

PS. Sorry for the poor english.

The spec sheet says "Forged alloy 22.2 quill stem. I assume you want to use a threadless stem on a fork which uses a threaded headset and quill stem. To do this you'll need a 22.2 quill to threadless stem adapter. Or of course you could use different handlebars which fit the existing stem.

Yes, you want a quill to threadless stem adaptor like the link above. I use one on my hybrid and it works great.

You can also get shims for the stem you have to fit the handlebar. I've used those, too, and never had a problem.

Ok, that explains it very well, Thank you all so much. I went ahead and bought both an adapter and the stem of my choice.

Thanks again!