Gnarly Davidschwinn

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
well here goes-

this is my first build for the forum or real life.
my starting point is a schwinn mountain bike like the one on this page-http://www.phoenixbikes.org/node/1215
sorry i started working on this a few weeks ago and didn't think i would start a thread so i have no before pics of my own

I know i know, the double-diamond is not exactly ratty but its the best i have to work with at the moment.

my plans for this build are-
homemade apehangers
new paint-either stripped to bare aluminum, polished and cleared with some accents or classic red rims, black frame and white accents, give me your input!
new chain since i destroyed the eight year old one the bike came with last night
laid back seatpost
fixed gear conversion
front brake delete
wood false tank
possibly a drop in the rear
and the real kicker- chainsaw power via friction drive!

i'd love to do some work on the frame to make it a camelback or boardtracker style but i cant do any welding on it since its aluminum

pictures coming soon, just a soon as i figure out this fancy photobucket thing (question-why cant i just upload straight from my blackberry to photobucket? or can i? help me out)

well a few weeks ago i borrowed the welder from work over the weekend and did a little work on ol gnarly

bike2.png

fabbed up a mount for the chainsaw engine

Picture3.png

thats what it looks like when handlebars mate! took some kids bmx handlebars, removed the cross bar and cut off the handles, then the green part is some mountain bike straight bars cut in half and all welded between the base and handles of the bmx bars. geez i hope that made any sense-surely the picture helps

bike1.png