Fiberglass Tank Questions

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've recently started carving a tank from a thick piece of insulation. I was hoping to make a "mold" out of it and fiberglass over it. After some research, (youtube has a bunch of info), I found out the fiberglass will melt the foam insulation. I've never worked with fiberglass before and am wondering if any of you had any helpful (and cheap) hints on how I should go about this. Here is what its looking like....never mind the mess and the crappy cell phone pic.
get-attachment_zps54564597.jpg

Try a small piece of the foam--I don't think the Rosin will melt the foam.You can leave it in for a solid core tank or use acetone to melt the foam .

Maybe you could wrap the foam in plastic and then glass it?

Just a thought.

That's a good idea. If you can work out the details and make an acceptable tank, you could make a bunch of money casting Schwinn straight bar tanks. Good luck, I hope you succeed! Gary

I have done lots of fiberglass work. I have made a few molds. If you have any specific questions, ask.