Columbia?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a newbie who can use help, but I do already have the passion for classic bikes. I have an old middleweight that I would like to identify, but I also have many questions. The bike has no head badge and no name anywhere. I will post photos if I can. The top rail is actually two tubes. Is that what I have seen referred to as cantilever? It has a serial # on the left lower rail of C181244. The only correlation to that number I have found is that it may be a 1957 Columbia. It has a Styria hub and 26 X 1.75 tires.

Can I mount larger tires on these rims, or any middleweight rims, like size 26 X 2.125? I have read that Schwinn middleweights have odd size tires. I don 't know that this is a Schwinn, but I do have an old Shwinn girls bike that is pretty nasty and I may part out and use the rims on another bike. That brings up the next question, are the old rims safe? If so, can I un-lace them and media blast the rims and then paint or powder coat? I have good mechanical ability, but have never laced a bike wheel.

Let me say also that this bike seems to be past the patina stage, with blue paint over red, just in case someone wonders if I don't appreciate the natural, original, look. I would like to correspond with anyone in the midwest and will watch for future midwest events, swaps, etc. where I can learn.
DSC05125.jpg

Thanks for your patience and in advance for your help!

I agree, it looks like a late 50's early 60's Rollfast or Hawthorne with an older Rollfast sprocket. it looks like a 40's sprocket.

More photos. Does the chainguard look Hawthorne? Will any forks interchange and work on this bike other than Snyder?
Thanks!
DSC05129.jpg

DSC05128.jpg

DSC05127.jpg