A motorized '62 Schwinn Project.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everybody. I am new around these parts but I'm a regular on http://www.motoredbikes.com.

I know a lot of people think of a project such as this as being kind of blasphemous, but in all reality it has a very practical application for me. I am a full time college student stuck in a city without a car, and a motorized bike is probably the most logical form of transportation for a few reasons. I can ride it around campus like a regular old bicycle when I don't want to offend anybody, but back and forth to my apartment I can use the motor. My first build was a Ross Eurotour which just a cheap old bike. I have a picture of it right here:

Best1.jpg

It's the one with the chrome fenders in the front. It turned out pretty rad and it sure is fast, but I'm selling it to a friend. Mostly because it's not good for year around riding, it's mostly a fair weather bike. I decided this time around to do a more all weather bike with a more reliable 4-stroke engine. I found a really cool Schwinn frame (from a member of this forum) to use as my base, and I have some fun plans for it.

1. Springer forks in the front, probably something cheap like a Micargi (I'm dealing with a super limited budget).
2. A new front caliper front brake.
3. New Pedals, customized seat, rear basket/sidebag, other fun stuff.