Roof mounted rack experience?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
63   0   0
I have a Subaru Outback with a roof rack. I was thinking of getting a couple bike racks for it. I found these on Fleabay. I wanted your thoughts/experience on whether these are some chinese POS's that will be flinging my priceless projects down the freeway, or good to go for not much money.

$(KGrHqV,!oMFILcTZUjKBSJ6S2ySog~~60_3.JPG

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2x-HD-Universal ... 6d&vxp=mtr

I have some experience with roof racks but not current, last 6 years I had been incognito.

That said, where's the rest of the rack? The part that goes on the car?
The trough and clamp on that upper half looks ok, I like wheel locks/straps as well.
Problem with all load on racks is the trough width, not being wide enough to fit wide tires, cruiser tires.

I have a forester with the factory crossbars. It holds up alright. That being said I'm trying to find a set of Yakima Grabrails so I can replace the factory bars and mount a basket and bike rail. Those racks you pictured look pretty cheap. I assume it clamps the downtube but you'd have to undue the locking screw and slip the bike in. I'd look for a pair of Yakima or Thule rails used. I've picked up plenty at yard sales most could be easily modified to work with factory cross bars.

I have a Forester and XC70, I have used fork mount style in the past for mtb's and they work great, I have an upright rack that I thought would work well for cruisers but there's something about holding 40-60lbs of bike up over your head with one hand while operating the rack with the other. Also, my upright rack is a Thule so should be heavy duty but wow do the old heavy bikes flop around. I'll be sticking to a swing away hitch rack until something better comes around..