What Year Schwinn

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
34   0   0
I picked up this Schwinn 5Speed cruiser but I need to know what year it is. I'm not very good at making out the year codes on SN's.
Thanks

It's off the chart, but if that's a BV, it's 1984 if they kept the lettering going, if it's BM, 1976. There weren't any Chicago Schwinns after 1983 I think, so I can't explain the V.

Thanks Wildcat..
I'll double check that one letter to see what really the year this cruiser is..
I'm really hoping it's an "M"..

Thanks Wildcat..
I'll double check that one letter to see what really the year this cruiser is..
I'm really hoping it's an "M"..

Look at the numbers on badge right beside the I. top number is the year, following from bottom 3 numbers which will be the day of year, I.E. if bottom number is 0 then 0 then 1 it's Jan 1. and if bottom number is 3 then 6 then 4 Dec 31 and last number up would be year..

6 { year made 1976 }
0 { Day of year Jan 1 }

the bike below was made on May 4 1976. Schwinn made frames all year and stamped the badge when assembled. So, you may have a frame made in 1980 but the badge may have been stamped 1-2 years later, then it would not be a 1980 bike but 81 or 2.
ImageFetch.ashx

Last edited:
Well I double checked the SM# and it started with "BV".. So I guess it's an 84 cruiser.. I also checked the head badge and it did not have any numbers stamped on it.

Well I double checked the SM# and it started with "BV".. So I guess it's an 84 cruiser.. I also checked the head badge and it did not have any numbers stamped on it.
It's a Murray made built for Schwinn in February 84 then, but odd that the badge is not stamped, the 84's were stamped too. The rims should have tipped your off from the start because, they wouldn't have RxR tracks on them.