VDUB Advice (PICS ADDED 4/10/08)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All! I have a chance to obtain a 73 or 74 VW Super Beetle.. I haven't seen the car in 15 years. Yes that is how long it sat in a rundown garage. I know it doesn't run. So what I am asking is what do I need to look for? I have no VW experience. My plans for the car is to just clean it up enough to ride.. Then later Rat it out with black primer and maybe make it automatic.. So Any and alll help is needed. Thanks..

Re: VDUB Advice

VDubs don't like to sit for a long time, they tend to disintegrate. Rust is the big killer, but if it's not too bad, it could be worth your time. Check under the carpets in the and in the battery box beneath the back seat, that's where the worst of it usually is.

The other big problem is previous owners' botched repairs. VWs seem to bring out the worst in shade tree mechanics, but their work isn't always easy to spot. Best to bring along a veteran VW owner/fan for backup.

I've owned 3 beetles, a bus, a fiberglass dune buggy, and several Rabbits.

Good luck!

Thank you for the heads up. I don't know any VDub guys..I do know that the tried to have it fixed and they did not succeed. I may be biting off more than I can chew..Is there an automatic conversion out there for beetles? A simple or common tranny swap to make it auto?

No real easy conversion to automatic transmission. The only auto VW made for the type I upright aircooled powered cars was called an autostick and they are rare. They really didn't work very well either. They weren't very efficient so they made an underpowered car into a real gutless wonder :roll: