Pics of the Roth Rattle Bomb Flake and Kandy in action.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I ordered some of the roth Rattle Bomb in Cherry Pie Red and the Kandy rattle bomb in the same color. They have a basecoat too but I forgot to order it, so I used the duplicolor metelspecks red for the base coat. I have never used flake before but it laid down nice and smooth. For some reason I was thinking I was going to be able to se the flake coming out, but its so small you cant really see it coming out of the tip. It was a little colder then it should have been when i put the flake on so it fogged up a little in spots. Out of 1 12oz can i got about 3 good coats on each side of a columbia straight tank.
The kandy went on really nice, and it got about 3 good coats out of the 12oz can too. I used the 2 part clear in a can, its the one that you hit the bottom of the can to release the hardener and you only have 24 hours to use it or else it will harden in the can. Its about 71 degrees outside so the clear cured in about 4-5 min per coat. This was not really cheap, $20 for the can of flake, $20 for the can of Kandy, and $20 for the clear, but it was totally worth it. Im not the greatest painter but it came out better then anything I have ever done. The pics dont do it justice. The flake coverage is awsome and really sparkles in the sun. So if your on the fence about using this product, I say go for it. Just make sure you use it in temps above 70. I kept the pics kinda big so you can see it a little better.

Thanks

Jason
xc3qmd.jpg

8yur80.jpg

heres the link to the stuff
http://www.rothmetalflake.com/flakes.html

Looks good!! :)

I can't seem to get my head around the actual steps for this process. Here's my half-brained thought process: