Odd Schwinn Varsity?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, while I'm waiting for the fine folks over at SchwinnBikeForum.com to approve my application to join.... :roll: ....I'll post what I have, here and actually get a response...
I'm no Schwinn expert. But I aquired a 1970 Varsity (ser# JF*****) Sierra Brown, 19" frame, 10 spd, Derailuer type, 27 x 1 1/4 tires...

IMG_0637.jpg

But here is the first interesting thing...The serial number is an, what would you call it, a mis-stamp....The letter "F" is missing the lower part of the letter...Is it an "F" or an "E"?? It's most likely an "F", of course, but interesting...So the other thing that had interested me was that the bike was out fitted with cruiser parts and accesories. Pullback handle bars, matching handgrips and brake lever covers, generator powered head light and taillight (both working). full length chrome fenders, Schwinn Approved speedo, heavy tubular steel book rack, and a classic two-tone Schwinn vinyal saddle...

IMG_0639.jpg

IMG_0653.jpg

IMG_0638.jpg

IMG_0641.jpg

IMG_0646.jpg

IMG_0643.jpg

IMG_0650.jpg

IMG_0657.jpg

IMG_0658.jpg

IMG_0654.jpg