New treasure awaiting me (update 5/17) anything special?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, Im a landscaper and I told everyone I work with to be on the lookout for any bikes in the trash or old bikes for sale. I get a call yesterday from one of the mow crew foreman and he said it must have been trash day on his route. Found an old bike in the back of a scrappers truck and talked him into letting him save it. Told me he had no idea what it was, just said it was old as heck, had rusty chrome, a womens frame, but said it was trimmed out like a old car. Ill be picking it up tomorrow from work, hoping its an old tank bike with a springer and other cool stuff like lights and racks!

Score one for the ratrodders! another rust bucket saved from the scrappers. Pictures to come tomorrow!

Re: New treasure awaiting me

Forgot all about this. It ends up being and old english skinny tire bike but all og. Company is called ivicta. Made in burmingham england. 3speed sturmey archer aw. light generator, fenders, wrights seat, just a cool looking bike for a womans bike. Couldnt find clues to its age till i cleaned the gunk off the sa hub and the hub was dated a 55 so this is now my oldest bike in the fleet. Bike is all original including the stock pads that still say made in england. I aired the tires and it rode ok, hub wanted to shift but the shift chain was bent, luckily I had a good one to replace it with. I was gonna steal the hub for my build off bike but the wife likes this bike and I would hate to ruin the fact its all there. I think Ill clean it up some, keep the stock patina and just wax what paint is left for a touch of shine.

IMG_5627.jpg

IMG_5633.jpg

IMG_5634.jpg

IMG_5635.jpg

IMG_5636.jpg

IMG_5637.jpg

IMG_5638.jpg

IMG_5639.jpg