1948 Triumph

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I am halfway through this build. Thought you all would appreciate it.

B04C231C-8A3F-4415-A744-E58C3742D712.jpeg
AFA1D6D1-81FD-4B58-BAC3-CA41FE2FDFED.jpeg
30D00BF5-BA16-47DF-8F13-6C5314CC7620.jpeg

This bike had been sitting outside of a local junk store for years. I finally made a lowball offer and bought it for $17

This is my first attempt at rod brakes.

I have already torn the bike apart and am in the process of cleaning and derusting all the bits and pieces.

I tried an OA bath on the rims but they are too far gone.

This Sturmey Archer hub is dated 1948. That’s really all I know about this bike.

There was no clip to take the sprocket off of this hub. The sprocket is threaded on. Apparently there is a special tool to remove the sprocket. I just removed the entire driver which the sprocket is attached to. That was the only way to remove the spokes.
IMG_4134.png

I am looking for opinions on what to do to the frame. So far, I have only given it a very gentle sponge bath. I am afraid the paint may scrub off if I do too much cleaning.

I have been reading a lot of posts on BLO. Boiled Linseed Oil. My question is whether that would be appropriate on this bike? I have read enough how to tutorials, that I think I can do it. Is that the right way to preserve this? How clean does the frame need to be? Can I use BLO on a frame that might still have some dirt or grease in the paint?

I am looking for opinions on what to do to the frame. So far, I have only given it a very gentle sponge bath. I am afraid the paint may scrub off if I do too much cleaning.