Total NooB

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok fellas, started with a short intro. I am so new to this bike thing its not funny. I am a long time rodder, but gas and all (you know the rest).
I want to build a motored bike, that looks like an old wood track bike or cafe racer thing, I dont really know how to describe it. I do need a few speeds for the hills where I live. I want to start with a frame, but am not finding what I want, any ideas or help would be awesome. I want them fat baloon tires too! The bike a I am thinking of is called a FELT MP thats all I know.

Do you want a bike with multiple speeds or a motor with multiple speeds? You would have to find a small dirtbike engine or something (I think the old honda 50 and 70cc bikes had clutchless 3 speeds) or do some major engineering to the popular bicycle motor kits, they have one speed, no gearbox.

That's the idea I've had in my mind lately! Thanks Upper Class. Except I was going to just have my left side drive motor run to the bottom bracket (sprocket on both sides) that would drive the normal bike drivetrain with rear derailure. I'll do it someday, when I'm not broke :roll:

Upper Class White Trash said:

I like to see that running under load with the derailluer. I would seem that the torque on the springs would just pull the heck out of the springs.
I wonder if there's a setup for a coaster crank so that you could still pedal. anyone know if thats available?

duct-tape said:

I like to see that running under load with the derailluer. I would seem that the torque on the springs would just pull the heck out of the springs.
I wonder if there's a setup for a coaster crank so that you could still pedal. anyone know if thats available?