FIVE50 Cranbrook (First build)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, this is my first build... Tho I SHOULD be finishing my 79 cb650, but this is just too fun :D

We were in need of a 'pit bike' for using at the track, and after looking at other options, building a motorized bike seemed to fit the bill. So two weeks ago I picked up this Huffy, and here is what I have so far.
Ordered a skyhawk 66 from bikeberry.com, it came a few days late thanks to the big snow storm last week, no worries.
However they forgot my U-bolt, but they did first class mail me one :)

Bobbed the fenders, took off all the stickers, and rode it for a week while I waited for the motor

Added some $12 mountain bike bars

Made this seat post out of the stocker. I'm not 100% sure if I like it or not..

I wanted more stoping power, so I got this kit from Pirate cycles as I was told it would fit
2011-02-07135647-1.jpg

However, I could not get them to work. They rubbed on the tires, and not at all on the wheel, I believe they need to be spaced forward. Emailed pirate about the issue, just looking for advice, and never heard back :?:
Oh well, I'm still stoked on the brakes so they'll be used for another build.

So I got the bike running for the track, but god the new style carb is mother to tune.

Never got it tuned right but still enjoyed it over the weekend.
You would NOT believe how many looks the bike got, so many pics were taken lol :)

Had a great weekend at the track, came home, and started tweaking with the bike.
First thing was to get the carb running better.
After a few hours tuning it, I got it running pretty great. It RIPS now.
No more bogging issues unless it idles for too long.
I believe it is running rich as it doesn't need any choke on start..?

For now I'm happy :)
Sorta before and after

My plans are to: