any idea what this is?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
00R0R_2CnEHg7LkUr_600x450.jpg
I am thinking about going to look at this tomorrow and from what I am told it is a J C Higgins from Sears but that's it. I am new to the pre and post war era bikes so I have no clue what it is worth and they want me to make an offer. Can you help?

Something like that, I'd probably try to get for $50, no more than $75, unless you really want it for yourself. I tend to look at bikes in terms of what I could get back out of them if I had to. On that one, you could probably pull $25 from the frame, $10 for the chain guard, $25 for the fenders if they're straight, maybe $10-$20 a wheel if you're lucky, so you could recoup your money if you had to at $50-$75.

My general rule for buying old bikes is start around $50 for a nice base bike, then if it has a tank add $25, truss rods add $25, skirts add $25, drop stand add $25, springer fork, depending on the type, add $25 to $50...add up the numbers and I think you're in the ballpark for not losing money if you buy it for whatever the total is, or less. So if you come across a decent bike that has a tank, springer front, skirts and a drop stand you're probably not going to lose out much if you get it for $175 or under.

It's a 50s era Higgins. It's been repainted along the way, so it's tough to tell what model it started out as though. There isn't a springer fork or anything to suggest it's more than a mid-level model. So don't fall for any talk of it being a Colorflow at one time. The fenders seem fairly straight and the wraparound braces are not too mangled. The dropcenter rims good good too. These frames/forks can hold fat tires, 24x3 or 26x2.35, if you're thinking of customizing it.
I would try to keep the price under a $100.

Good luck.
Cheers,
Dr. T