Trauma-Free Tire Changing

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
Hey, guys. I'm looking for a little help with swapping out some tires and doing it with the least amount of trauma possible to my rims. This is my first post asking for help and although this question may sound silly to all the seasoned vets out there I'm not really a bicycle newbie. For the first time in my bicycle building life, however, I sprung for three super nice re-chromed wheel sets. These all came with new tires on them and I want to swap out the rubber on a gorgeous set of Morrow wheels.

I always just grabbed a couple of straight screwdrivers and pry an edge of one tire off and have never cared much about the rims because I have never had anything this nice. So does anyone have any advice as to what tools and techniques they use when you're really worried about scuffing or gouging a pricey wheel/rim? Any help is very much appreciated!

BTW, my name (obviously) is Wade and I'm a huge fan of what's going on around here.

I bought a pair of el-cheapo "Bell" brand levers and they worked great for 6 months and maybe 10 tire changes then something happened to the plastic and thet just started bending and breaking - wore out I guess... Stoopid wallyworld junk.

http://www.birdlegsbicycles.com/pro...8XSc6nx5H28b1qoGopsPjwNxK0dfae4eN9RoCQd3w_wcB
qktl6c%20zoom.jpg

I have to say that for skinny wheels and tyres I like the levers with the hook to go round a spoke, it means that you can use 2 more levers to get the tyre started when removing.

Plastic/resin/composite tire levers are great, and I agree that the ones with the "spoke hook" can be even more useful!