New guy, reversing the historical trend...

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy folks... I've been lurking in the shadows of this site for several months now and thought it was a good time to join up, now that I have a project to show. My background is in aviation and my hobbies have always been airplane-oriented, but I've been pushing myself hard and nearing burnout lately and wanted to do something different for a while. The Wright Brothers went from bicycles to airplanes, maybe it's not such a big stretch to go from planes to bikes, eh?

I've been into R/C planes since I was old enough to read magazines but have been very frustrated with the attitudes of others I've met in that hobby lately. This board and its members seem to be a very friendly, accepting, open place to share ideas about a hobby so I'd like to be a part of it, at least for a while. I know how to do a few things mechanically, but my level of craftsmanship is not on par with other members of this board so I'll be learning alot for you all!

I had bikes as a kid, but was not really into them anymore than my wife is into cars - they were tools to get from A to B. Last year I decided to build a motorized bike to get me around the campground at Oshkosh and found this site while doing my research. Evidently there are alot of like-minded folks in central Kansas whom I'm looking forward to meeting , but for now, I just wanted to say "Hi" and "Thanks for sharing" all the great builds and ideas on this board. I hope I'll have something to contribute...

My first attempt - the before, during mockup for a build that didn't happen:
InTheBeginning1.jpg

InTheBeginning2.jpg

And the after, as it sits today.:
FinishedCreamsicle.jpg

I know the seatpost looks goofy, but I'm 6'4" and don't like hitting my knees on my chin...