Need Western Flyer Info.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Saw this one in a antique shop, they are currently asking $200 which seems steep since there is speckled rust all over and duck tape on the pedal. Yet, I am no expert on vintage bicylces; I was hoping that someone could tell me a thing or two about this one in particular, the model, year, what to look for, and what its worth (although I realize worth is broad, just stick with Low: $100 - High: $600 exc...). The girl working had no clue what she had in the store and said I can contact the owner come monday should I think about buying.

IMG_4214.jpg

arpicker said:
Perhaps a bicentennial model with that red, white and blue paint?

Yea, I was thinking that too. I couldn't find a similar one any where on the net. It says western flyer written in cursive on the chainguard (White words, on the blue background) I have an idea at what it may be (I would like to hear some one elses thoughts before I infuence the discussion) but there seems to be some differences in parts, or missing parts?

I'd like to have whatever it is they are drinking or smoking. Its obviously good stuff. For $200, that bike had better be mint. It is more like $100 tops. Antique shops are NEVER good for bicycles or anything really for that matter. All of those antique stores are high priced and stuff never sells. They all wait on a sucker to come in the store and buy something. I have bought things on occasion, but I only buy what is priced fairly or is a good deal. They know I do and they know when I bring something to the counter, they missed something.