La Esperanza

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, so I won't pretend to be anywhere near as creative with the story lines as you guys, but here goes.

This build will be in honor of my old man, who has helped me immeasurably over the years, as dads do, and will be more or less as a replica of the bike he gave me when I graduated from 6th grade in 1983. His first car was a '51 Bel Air Hardtop he painted Honduras Maroon, so I'm going to combine the two- the look of the old bike he built me painted to match the car I grew up hearing about my entire life.

La Esperanza ("hope" en la Espanol) is a city in Honduras, and I'm hoping I can finish on budget and on time, so it seems to fit.

The befores:

IMG_20140507_081242.jpg~320x480

IMG_20140507_081305.jpg~320x480

And of course a gratuitous shot of 'Big Red' as she currently rolls:
IMG_20140418_173633_1.jpg

(90% where I want it- as if they're ever 'done' lol)

Last edited:
Welcome to RRB
Is the bike already built?

The red '79 Spitfire? yeah, but the entry is the '67 frame... which represents my entire bike stash, lol. Sheesh dude, got lost in your thread- that Monarch frame is amazing :)

Great job on the Spitfire. Look forward to what you do with the 67.
It looks like you are just posting thumbnail pics, try and post bigger photos.
Good luck!

Yeah, noticed that too. I think it's 'cause I uploaded using the phone app rather than u/l'ing from files on the computer.
Not happy with the shoes or spats on the spit, I just keep starting other projects lol. Duckbill fenders and chrome drop center hoops with Nexus roller brakes and wide whites waiting, just been too lazy to order spokes and lace them. The fleet won't be nearly as radical as the stuff most of you guys build, a little more Regan than Roosevelt...