help! prewar schwinn?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bon

Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
hi guys! i'm new to this incredible site and i wish someone might now what year and model of this schwinn bike that i recently bought.. only the frame and the tank are salvageable.. all i know is it is a prewar bike. thanks if you could shed some light on this one.
serial has GY 10 on top of 11160, on the side it has a logo with number 4100.

Pixo0337.jpg

pixo0332.jpg

Pixo0333.jpg

Pixo0335.jpg

Pixo0336.jpg

Pixo0334.jpg

This one has me stumped. The tank and head tube/top tube welds look exactly like a Schwinn. The drop outs and the serial number don't look like any Schwinn I've seen. :? With drop outs having ears like that, you'd think this frame would have a straight down tube.
I hope someone can figure this one out. That's about a $200 tank, by the way. :wink: Gary

Maybe the GY is Goodyear? This is a pic of a 1938 Goodyear bike, made by Colson. The dropouts look like yours. I also noticed the welds on the headtube, they aren't smooth like a Schwinn. Maybe a Colson?

acztk6.jpg

It rally doesn't look like a Schwinn to me. The tank obviously is, but maybe it's a prewar roadmaster or western flyer that a schwinn tank just happened to fit well.

ozzmonaut said:
It rally doesn't look like a Schwinn to me. The tank obviously is, but maybe it's a prewar roadmaster or western flyer that a schwinn tank just happened to fit well.

+1. That brazing job sure looks nice, whatever make it is. It will look sharp painted up. Gary

Darn :? When we bought this one,i was all Schwinn...now that you striped it,i'm totally blank. Everything looks legit,doesn't appear to had been tampered or modified...
ozzmonaut said:
yes maybe the tank just happed to fit in...Hahaha i guess we're going to Rat this one? :D

ozzmonaut said: