Bike ID Help...I think it's a CWC

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
See reply below for pictures

A02728 AC with a "w" inside the C
DadsBike.jpeg

This was my fathers bike when he bought as a teenager in the 50's. I though I would try to restore it but I have never done anything like this before.

I think it may be a Cleveland Welding Co. Frame and by what I can find in pictures maybe a Montgomery Ward Hawthorne.
I am looking for an identity so I can get a badge for it and a tank, I would like to have am much original as possible.

Last edited:
A02728 AC with a "w" inside the C
sprocket.jpg~c200

8f5ff6c0-2ec0-4be5-b4b9-72855023331a.jpg

BikeNumber.jpg

This was my fathers bike when he bought as a teenager in the 50's. I though I would try to restore it but I have never done anything like this before.

I think it may be a Cleveland Welding Co. Frame and by what I can find in pictures maybe a Montgomery Ward Hawthorne.
I am looking for an identity so I can get a badge for it and a tank, I would like to have am much original as possible.

Last edited:
Looks like a CWC Road Master but they were not all badged that way. I have this one that has a Royal Master head badge.

Definitely a CWC bike, it may have been badged as a Hawthorne. It looks like a Roadmaster head badge in the picture. If memory serves, that serial number denotes 1950 or 1951.

What else can I look for or post pictures of to identify the brand so I can get correct badge and tank?

A picture of the front chainring might give a clue. As well as any outline the badge may have left behind.

The chainring is one of the three on the post above. I do not notice a badge outline. The original paint was spray painted over and I sanded the spray paint down but do not see a mark where badge was.

Welcome to RRB.