70's Huffy into 30's Streamliner - Tentative name 'Aerith'

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first build that I'm posting here.

I started with a 70's Huffy frame last year, and have been collecting ideas and parts since then.
Now that I'm making some real progress it's time to post some photos.

My original design was hatched after lusting after an Electra Indy 3, In retrospect it would
have been cheaper and quicker to just buy one,but I don't regret the money or the time spent
at all, especially as this bike should be something that truly is an expression of my dreams.

I really want a beautiful old 30's bike; realistically it's not practical for a number of reasons,
not least of which is the cost. There are other issues, such as the need for multiple speeds
and strong front brakes since I commute to work in a hilly area. My bikes have to work for a
living.

My current bikes are an Electra Delivery 3 and a 90's Murray from Goodwill that I have
modified from a mountain bike into a Cruiser/Commuter (Cru-muter)

So, here are some pictures...

The frame, after sandblasting and the first coats of Rustoleum Antique White

fraimpain1.jpg

Fenders are Nirve street sweepers with a little something extra, Wrap-Around 2 piece front
and rear.

mockup2.jpg

fenderpaint1.jpg

A quick mockup from last year prior to stripping the frame

mockup1.jpg

This bike is going to get a homemade tank, not sure just how I'll do it yet, maybe
fiberglass. The portholes are from an old Bogen PA head

porthole1.jpg

I was digging the shiny Monark someone did last year with a microphone for a tail light,
and several months later realized I had some busted old microphones in a box. I'm going
to do it one better, microphone taillight AND headlight (Elvis!!! :wink: )