what is this?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all-Im new to the group and looking for your expertise. What I do know about this bike (I think) is that:
  • Its a J.C. Higgins pre war model?
  • Its a skiptooth?

My questions are:
  • Are the holes in the side of the tank where the horn use to be OR is there a missing description plate?
  • This is not a color flow bike because it does not have the portholes in the side. What is it called?
  • In its present condition (owner said it rides well) what is it worth?
  • Is there any advertisement (original) that would help me figure out what year it is?
  • Total newbie question-there is no springer front end-is that because its a cheaper model or not old enough to have that feature.
s-l1600.jpg

Thanks for your time,:)
Laura

Someone will probably correct me, but I believe it to be a post war skip tooth. Higgins are tricky. If it were prewar It would be an Elgin, I believe. I have the same model in men's. Colorflow is the name. No springer was just a "price point" option as the reps like to say.

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Looks very original. That headlight could be worth a fair bit. Seat & truss bars a great. If I was looking for an antique, slightly ratty ladies bike in rider condition.. and it's in your price range. Id get it.

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk

I recently read something about pre/post war Elgin, Higgins. I don't know about this bike or its value, but someone here does.
Welcome to the site, don't forget to put something on the intro page.