What exactly do I have here?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie here, please help me identify the components of this bike.
My beau picked this up off of CL last fall and I have set about to clean and refresh/restore it. It seems like it has been pieced together, but I can't say for certain.

It was obviously painted at least twice (I think original paint was a vibrant metallic blue), once red and once the current drab olive.
Sadly handle bars and seat bar were also sprayed with gold spray paint.

No parts with any stickers or serial numbers that I can see at this stage. Metal seat saddle is stamped with Made in Italy. I thought frame reminded me of stingray- but I am a newbie so help would be appreciated. Thanks!!!!
This is my first attempt at posting pics via image url link.

Frame shots
26630570241_f1185de909.jpg
Bike Restore[/url] by rebekahkoi, on Flickr[/IMG]

Pedals and gear
26669957786_82b2d21474.jpg

Seat
26669957466_d396e42731.jpg

Handle bar, seat bar, wheel and clown detail (clown detail was on the bike already and that theme is going away!)
26630567971_183f67f9d2.jpg

Last edited:
The images aren't showing up on this end.
I can link to them with the icon.

Will see if I can get identifiers.

I tried copying the image url the first time from the app on my phone. Just updated the image link with the whole link listed (BB option size medium) from the website via a browser window.

Thanks! I am guessing a lot of what is on this is not original. There was also a light- need to grab a photo of that too. Wires come out of the frame- but I don't see where the generator portion would have been located.

'57 or later, when Schwinn's cantilever style patent ran out. Shimano crank, probably not original, depends on the date.