To Be Decided

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So...

I figured I would start this now whilst I've got some ideas in my head. Hopefully get some feedback and been able to finalise things in my head and start ordering material/getting stuff made.

I'm completely new to this so unsure of proper names of things so please excuse my descriptions.

Plan is...

• Take the hub motor, and front wheel off my e bike and put it on a custom chopper style frame. These will be standard 26" hybrid tyres (a concern). I don't want big fat back wheel on this.
  • Long showy bike for summer use only.
  • I want to sit on it like it's a chopper.
  • Seat must be under height of back wheel.
  • Big rake. Front forks from wheel center to top of handlebars will be 5ft. Forks extend through head thingy up to handle bars all welded into one piece.
  • As minimalist as physically possible.
  • As light as possible without it folding up on me lol.
  • Floating saddle (basically minimum bracket visable
So far I'm looking at 30mm by 60mm by 2mm ss box for the frame. 30mm square 3mm ss box for the back arm. 30mm round 1.5mm for forks again ss which from reading on here will most likely be too small so probably look for 40mm round 1.5mm.

Nothing is set in stone really so if this sounds completely impossible then please be as brutal as you need to be. Lickle bit of constructive would be good as well though.

Here is a to size 2d mock up of basic shape and idea.

Attachments

• IMG_20170817_103552.jpg
    IMG_20170817_103552.jpg
    257.5 KB · Views: 326
I like it!

Seeing as you asked for guidance I have a little: