Suspended banana saddle, how to make it happen?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There musts be people here who have an idea about this. I've thought of it since I made my latest purchase from Classic-cycle. I bought a swept banana saddle among other things... The thing is that I'm going for balloon tires + springer fork, but what about back suspension of some sort? I don't have the tools or skill to make a sissy bad with springy stuff, heck its my first time I'm ever installing one of those.

Then I thought, how about modifying the saddle and add some springs? I got several old saddles I could scavenge for parts, but have no idea how to go on with it. Extensive metal works requiring welding or a lot of tools is out of question as I don't have the means or place to do much. All I got is simple old school tools and some strength. But saddles aren't rocket science, I would think a banana saddle with some suspension shouldn't be more complicated than a normal saddle, its just longer and needs more stuff below I guess.

If anyone has ideas, pictures, anything on this, please post it here. :)

There are shock-absorbing/suspension seat posts out there. Probably could be adapted to a nanner seat. You might have to see that the seat could pivot a bit on the bolts mounting it to the sissy bar.

There are shock-absorbing/suspension seat posts out there. Probably could be adapted to a nanner seat. You might have to see that the seat could pivot a bit on the bolts mounting it to the sissy bar.
It's been done recently here, and they sell kits for lowriders, using the dual spring style Monark fork strut as a sissy bar.

Very interesting, keep talking, if you guys bump into any pictures or anything, just post it. :D