Salt Flats Sears

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Newbie here taking a first stab at one of these build offs ( good excuse to build a bike I've been mulling over ) and excuse me if I mess up the photos as my computer and I don't see eye to eye.
The bike I'm building is a mix of two of my favorite styles, 60's cruiser and lightweight road bike. I love riding my old iron but they are a bit slow when riding across town, but I miss the classic styling of a cantilever frame. So here it is, I found this Austrian built Sears this last weekend and was suprised by how light it is.
So anyway here's the start. Parts so far include a new bb...Nervar crankset...bullhorn bars...Wolber 700c wheelset. It has a long way to go, but should be the fastest cruiser in these parts when it's done.

DSC02956.jpg

DSC02958.jpg

DSC02959.jpg

DSC02960.jpg

DSC02961.jpg

DSC02962.jpg

DSC02963.jpg

DSC02964.jpg

DSC02965.jpg

DSC02966.jpg

Update on the Sears. Paint stripping day today and I discovered that the tubes are aluminum save for the bb and the steering tube. The frame weighs in at a touch under 6 lbs. so with the right parts this one should weigh about 16 lbs. when finished. It should be a road bike killer when completed. Score one for the cruiser guys. :D Cheers.

DSC02995.jpg

DSC02996.jpg

How about running the chain on the inner ring which will give you a more practical gear ratio and then filing all the teeth off the big ring. I've done it before on a fixed wheel hack, it looks trick.

MadMick said:
How about running the chain on the inner ring which will give you a more practical gear ratio and then filing all the teeth off the big ring. I've done it before on a fixed wheel hack, it looks trick.