Rock Bottom - Complete

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Wow ! This was a great experiance! This is my first build off and I had a great time building, restoring and following all the other great builds. Learned lots of new stuff and found out how awesome the Rat Rod Bikes community is. When I needed a link for my skiptooth chain - bike2112 sent it to me in an instant which made this project actually get on the road.
As a recap - I picked this 49 Schwinn from CL for $20. I thought I would at least be able to salvage the frame and I did not own a straight bar. When I got it home my wife saw the condition of it and asked how bad a bike had to be for me to NOT bring it home. A little light bulb went off and I named this bike ROCK BOTTOM :D
Here it is the day I brought it home
100_4319.jpg

100_4316.jpg

When I first started I envisioned a real ratty build and as all of my bikes it had to be a comfortable, rideable street bike. As the build progressed it took on a life of its own and it seemed the bike was telling me how it wanted to look when complete. I still look at and laugh because it looks nothing like my first plan. When my wife saw it complete she said the bike look Elegant !!! So funny to think I was going for all RAT when I started !!!

100_4585-1.jpg

But If you look real close you can see that I kept alot of the rust pitting and even some holes so she is a little Ratty under that Elegant exterior :mrgreen:
100_4324.jpg

100_4593.jpg

100_4582.jpg

100_4589.jpg

Some glamor shots on the boardwalk
RockBottom2.jpg

DSCN0025.jpg

DSCN0024.jpg

DSCN0019.jpg

DSCN0013.jpg

DSCN0016.jpg

DSCN0005.jpg

Thanks to all for the kind comments during the build
Here she is - ROCK BOTTOM
DSCN0021-1.jpg

Great build! :D Looks good with the Columbia springer fork :wink: Nice color choices too 8)