Roadmaster serial # help

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have an old Roadmaster and was told it was a 1926 model girls bike. I can't find out how correct that is. The # is J61204. Can any body help on verifying this or at least put me in a decade range? Thanks

i heard roadmaster (cleveland welding co) ser# dating is hard to do and i have what i narowed down to a 58 or 59, and havent been able to find any charts or definate answers. you outta snap a few key picts of it for us and see if anyone here can give you confirmation or has a good guess. good luck!!

If the bicycle is from 1926 it is not a CWC Roadmaster.

The name Roadmaster was used by more than one bicycle manufacturer. Most commonly, Roadmasters are the bicycles produced by the Cleveland Welding Company (CWC) of Cleveland Ohio. The company initiated bicycle production in 1935, offering the bicycles as their 1936 line. In 1951 the company was purchased by American Machine and Foundry (AMF) and Roadmasters were produced by AMF until they sold the bicycle division and Roadmaster name to Brunswick in 1997. In 1999 the company was sold to Pacific Cycle at which point all production moved overseas.

The original CWC Cleveland factory was used for bicycle production into 1956 at which point AMF moved production to a new purpose built factory in Little Rock Arkansas. In 1962 the AMF wheel goods division headquarters were relocated to Olney Illinois but full-size bicylces continued to be manufactured in Little Rock at least into the 1970's.

I have been collecting and documenting CWC production primarily for the Cleveland built bicycles for some time now. There is no known “master list” from the factory to date bicycles by serial number. In addition, the serial numbers repeat so a bicycle cannot be dated by the serial number alone.