"LACKLUSTER"

Discussion in 'BUILD OFF 7 FINISHED BIKES' started by Critter1, Jul 15, 2012.

1. Critter1

Critter1

Well from the day I started my build I felt the pressure to get it done, get it done. Hey, its my first build off... Now I realize I can (kind of) put things on cruise control since there was obviously plenty of time to get things done. Either way, I'm just happy I finished and finished with the vision I had from the start. I've always wanted a Newsboy Special frame and when I saw it come up for sale I knew I had to have it for the build off. After that, I knew I wanted a bike in Porsche sepia brown with a springer fork, Jerald slicks, bobbed fenders, chopped bars, coke bottle grips and some BMX style stem & pedals. It was a blast to build, with some hiccups along the way that were handled with a little fab work and ingenuity...

In order to fit the Jerald slick on the rear, the upper and lower stays were widened by 3/4" and if you look at the pics, it looks as factory as can be. For the front Slick to be fitted (without rubbing the fender and throwing me over the bars!! That story is in the build thread..) the rockers for the rat-trap springer were extended so the axle mounting was dropped by one inch. This gave plenty of clearance for the springer to work with the slick. Also If you notice, Lackluster has no fender brace on the rear. I wanted a clean look without them so I chose to mount the top of the fender to the center bar of the integrated rear rack. The fender I used is a deep Monark fender which didn't quite fit the curve of the tire without interference from the center bar of the rack. A contour of the top of the fender was ground out of the rack's center tube until the fender fit properly, then welded up. The front stubby fender was made out of the leftover Monark section after bobbing the rear fender.. Overall, all of the custom touches to this build came out very clean, smooth and factory like.