Kustom Built Guitar Amps

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been building guitars lately and I decided to try building my first amplifier. Here's what I came up with. After building the cabinet I wrapped it with gold metal flake vinyl. It sounds pretty good for only being a 10 watt practice amp.

Here's the mock up.
AMP6.jpg

Here it is out in the sun to see how the metal flake shines.

AMP1.jpg

AMP2.jpg

AMP3.jpg

AMP4.jpg

AMP5.jpg

I think I'm going to start making more amps with different designs. It was a fun project.

Last edited:
I know nothing about guitars and amps....But I do know what looks good! That looks very GOOD!

I know nothing about guitars and amps....But I do know what looks good! That looks very GOOD!
Thanks. This is my first time doing upholstery and I learned what not to do. So my next ones should look better.

Wow man that looks crazy cool! Love the mother of toilet seat face plate! Did you use guts from an old amp or board it yourself?
Thanks. I used the guts from an old Crate amp that I bought back in 1985. The speaker was shot so I decided to build this instead of just putting a new speaker in the old ugly box.

Last edited:
I like it. Very retro. I stripped the vinyl off of my Grandfathers old Musicman RD212 and stained the wood with Minwax Walnut, The I recovered the grill cloth with cane like the old Marshall combos. Turned out nice. One of my old 1x15 Teisco cabinets has a tye dye grill cloth. Tell me you saw my Rockin' Rollfast amp in the tank build.

Carl.