Is it a Stingray?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Picked up a, what I thought to be a Schwinn Stingray for $20. I thought it was an early 60's model. After taking apart and looking up the Serial number, I discovered that the bike was manufactured in 1962 (B246768). I am not an expert as this as this is my first muscle bike, but I can read and learned that the Stingrays did not come out until May of 1963.

The back tire is a Schwinn Stingray. The fenders look like original fenders too. What I am trying to determine whether I have an original stingray or a 1962 20inch Typhoon that was ratted out to be a muscle boke.

In a hurry so I will follow up with more info. Any info is appreciated. Thx.
99b4fa0aa6fb0af7b4317146d63aa656.jpg
c31da499bc90a4647c3f188ac1bed33d.jpg
2e7a9912a2afa080d6f4936968cf2e51.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

You have a Typhoon there, but it was converted into a "polo bike" at some point over its life.

There are a lot of bikes like that out there, 50's and 60's Schwinns, and other brands too, that were converted to the Polo Bike style with ape hangers and a solo polo seat and sissy bar. I see a lot of 26" bikes that were converted too.

Nice score! Looks like a cool project!

"Pig Bikes" is a more recent term, not the original term for these type bikes. They could have been called "polo bikes" or "high riser" bikes, for the seats and handle bars that were being added to the bikes.

My local dealer friend told me that his father and uncle went to the Bicycle Dealers Show in or around 1963 and his father came home with a white Persons solo polo seat, Persons sissy bar, and Wald "hi-riser" handlebars. He added them to his 26" Murray Meteor. He said when he rode it everyone he passed on the street asked him to stop so they could check out the stuff.