GT Outpost All Terra

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I really like the Triple Triangle frame on the GT's, so I picked this one up on CL for $60. Probably too much considering it's the end of the season and it has to be fixed up a bit, but everything else on CL in my area is even more overpriced and I wanted something to work on.

It's a scratched up a little bit, but not too bad, the color is still vibrant. I had a hard time adjusting the center pull brakes, but they came out fine. The thumb shifters work great too. I took off the reflectors because they were bent. Both wheels need to be trued, which I've never done before. Once it's done should be a nice ride and will sell it next spring if it doesn't sell this month. I think it would look amazing with some yellow tires, but I don't want to put too much $$$ into it.

2vv49dt.jpg

tin machine said:
hey brother i am with you gt bikes got me into bikes period , building gt mtbs started it all for me !! 8)

Yeah, I usually don't pick up mountain bikes off Craigslist because they don't sell as well as far as I'm aware of, and people want way too much $$$ for 'em. But I love the triple triangle frame, and I know GT is/was a well known brand, especially during the 90's. I'm not sure if I overpaid for it though, considering I have to figure out how to true the wheels. What's a bike like this worth? I couldn't find the exact model on eBay.

I'd say you didn't do too horrible, I paid $50 for my diamondback mountain bike, and I've sold a few for $100 if its in the summer. Most bike shops around here true wheels for $15 each or if you're like me and work on bikes all the time get a truing stand and go to town.