Dyno Limo Glide

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, Gentlemen.
Planning this for a long time i have finally started building my first custom bike. This is not full custom frame, but a customization of my Dyno Glide Deluxe. I am a product design student at School of Form, Poznan, Poland, so thanks to my school i have a good workshop to work at and an experienced teacher to help me with tips. Also thanks to guys from Kahaki Bikes, Krakow, who are helping me with advices as well.
The story of this bike is that someone bought it in 2000's in Netherlands, ridden it a lot, and then wanted to get rid of it. At this point it came across Mies from the Chopperdome, Amsterdam, and he got this bike for himself (not sure if he bought it or got for free, but as i am concerned the bike was not in very good condition by that moment). Somehow, as it happens with people who are in custom bike world, he never have found time to finish working on this bike. One day i was passing by MikeBike in Amsterdam searching for a second hand rear wheel, and Mies told me he probably have got one on the bike he was going to throw away, and told me i can have it. I found this bike with a hole through the frame, where the kickstand should be, it was very bad and unrideable, but had nice parts like springer forks and 346 Basman wheel set. That happens to Dyno Glide often in a climate like Dutch, that after water somehow gets inside the frame (for example through seatpost) it stays in the lowest place of the frame, just where the kickstand is, and after some time the frame rusts through. This time the hole was not only on the bottom part of the tube, but also on top part. However i have decided to take this bike with me to Poland and restore it.