Chopper Style (fat rear tire)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys

I'm a new face around here, been lurking on these forums since August and registered just before Christmas. This is my first build, I hacked away at a couple of failed attempts last summer, this one I am planning to see it thru.
I started with a concept drawing I made, from there it went to a plywood full scale plan. I used 2 different benders to get the different bends a JD2 model 32 to bend the tighter bends on the rear cage, and the Harbor Freight Roller for the smooth swooping curves in the front.
I found plans for a set of springers on the net, they have been fairly uncooperative, but I am slowly winning the battle with them :)

Anywho, here are some pictures:
overkillmockup_zpse5e2b3fe.jpg

tuberollertubinginit_zps6ed7d577.jpg

metal2_zps83ed9f2e.jpg

rearcage1_zps21f1245e.jpg

tuberollertubinginit_zps6ed7d577.jpg

overheadroughframe_zps9a259ef3.jpg

frontforksnearlyinstalled2_zps71241a50.jpg

frontforksnearlyinstalled3_zpscf5e3d25.jpg

Thanks for having me, hope you enjoy.

Rich

Re: Chopper Style

Thats a great start....The plans you are following for your springer are from John Brain....If you are having trouble with something hit him up. He is a super cool cat and will try to help you. Keep up the great work!! 8) 8)

Awesome build, that is going to be amazing!

Love fat tire builds... Love chopper builds... Love homemade springers... Love shovel seats...

Oh, and nice tube roller too! :D

Luke.

Thanks for the great comments guys!