Best Bang for Buck Tig?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all. I'm wanting to buy a tig and get to know it. I've done plenty of tig welding on the job, but never had to buy one for myself. Lots of new welders out there - many are Chinese - which may not be a bad thing if the price is right. I know that I want AC/DC so that I can do steel and aluminum. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Check out eastwood. I've seen good reviews. Prices are good and they have decent customer service.
Me personally, I'm A Welder. Im not a brand snob, but Id try my best to only buy from one of the big companies. TA, Miller, Lincoln, Htp. Hobart Stuff Is Decent but I'd recommend an ac/dc inverter and I don't think they offer one. There are a few Chinese companies that people have had good luck with, that's just not for me.

Last edited:
Check out eastwood. I've seen good reviews. Prices are good and they have decent customer service.
Me personally, I'm A Welder. Im not a brand snob, but Id try my best to only buy from one of the big companies. TA, Miller, Lincoln, Htp. Hobart Stuff Is Decent but I'd recommend an ac/dc inverter and I don't think they offer one. There are a few Chinese companies that people have had good luck with, that's just not for me.

The Eastwood welders, being Chinese, are not bad. I had the Eastwood 200, and someone offered me a deal I could not refuse. Thing is - I didn't even get a chance to use it! The newer Chinese welders seem to have more features and are more advanced that the Eastwoods - which are a lot more manual. The new ones have pulse and all that, and I want that now that I've studied up on them. So far, the Everlast brand is winning. Lol, I just channeled Charlie Sheen saying, "Winning!" :21::21::21: