4-Lowco: Air Ride, 4-link, 3-spd

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, so this is my first build and I'm going to have a LOT of questions. A have a very low budget (read: almost $0), so a lot of cheap ebay and second hand parts will be used.

Here are my plans thus far, this is just the big stuff, the details will evolve as it comes together:

A 4-link rear suspension (hence the name 4-Lowco), air ride with a cantilevered lift system and a watts pivot on the rear hub. A 2" stroke air cylinder will provide 6.5" of travel.
3-speed internal hub with a suicide shifter.
Triple trees and looooong forks with a ridiculous rake.

And that's all I've got right now.

Here's an initial sketch up in AutoCad:

FrameAir.jpg

And a quick video clip of the frame and rear suspension, modeled in Inventor:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHbIpFABcqY

I'm completely new to bike building, so I'm open to any comments or criticisms.

Re: 4-Lowco: A newbie's first build

thats pritty sweet idea you got there :) build it! :D

Nice design. Gunna be a sweet ride! As for the hub, I would buy the nexus over the used S/A. 8)

Well, it's not much of an update, but at least it show's I'm actually going to build something and not just play with CAD. UPS said my BB's should have been here yesterday, but I've yet to see them.

10 feet of 1.5" 16-gauge DOM
DutchFork-20111207-00186.jpg

I don't have a roller, I'm planning on packing the tube with pool sand and bending it over a wooden form to get my radii right. I hope I can bend it cold (I'm a pretty big guy), but I'll break out the oxy-acetylene for persuasion if needed.

This is going to be a heavy bike, but I'm hoping the 3-spd will help get it moving if I gear the crank low enough.

This is going to be an awesome build. I love the style you have here.