Any threads about adding gears to a bike?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a really old bike that I really enjoy riding. Problem is it does not have gears. Since I'm fairly new to bike modification, the first mod i'd like to do is upgrading the bike to have gears. I did a quick search but nothing came up. Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers!

f6b52f00d3b9d57558b79673ba8567e3.jpg

Sent from my HTC Desire 510 using Tapatalk

2 speed kickers or autos are another option; they obviate the need for a shifter/cable, and have a small OLD, so less spreading of the frame is required, versus many 3speeds. Plus, if you can find an old F&S Torpedo Duomatic or F&S Automatic, you won't need to spread at all....

Your bike is probably a one speed with coaster brake with a 26 x 1.75 or 26 x 2.125 inch tire,
s-l300 (1).jpg

so an internally geared hub would use the same chain and sprocket you have now. The new rim should keep the same tire size. I would get the whole same size wheel and just add your tire and tube to it, unless I had experience with lacing up spokes.
262125NX3-MD.jpg

To switch to a cluster and derailleur would be much more involved than a internally geared hub. The chain and sprockets are a different size.
Shifting-Gears.jpg

They have the coaster brake versions on the internally geared hubs, so you still brake the same way and don't have to add a handbrake. You can go all the way to 8 speeds, but I've found 3 to work fine on a cruiser. There are a good selection of shifters for them.
REY3N0NERjI2QUM1MDA2NzAxNTI6Nzc0YjI3NWYzMzA1NDJhMGM5OTAwODJhZmQ0MjQ2NDA6Ojo6OjA= (1).jpg
41DAyIuD6yL._AC_UL320_SR260,320_.jpg