Total noob with her first restoration project....

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I promise not to inundate you guys/gals with questions, so I'm going to do a lot of my own research on how to restore a pretty decent shape 1959 Roadmaster Jet Pilot girls bike. Most of the fixes are costmetic; the bike rides pretty well. Just some rust to remove and some chrome touch-up, replacing a saddle and a few spokes and maybe some cooler tires. The body paint is in decent shape but I want this bike to be pretty (cuz I'm a redhead and I'm a girl and that's how we roll). The cream and turqouise paint is dull and I have friends with automotive spray booths that can get a pretty beautiful paint job on the frame, but I'm wondering if anyone has a source for custom decals? I'm not sure if the existing logos are painted or decals, but I'd be ok with just using decals.

Of course, any other tips you nice folks care to impart...I'm all ears!

There are a couple folks on here that do decal work, however, you can also go to a local sign shop. Most of those do custom vinyl graphics that you see on work trucks and company cars, etc. This is the same thing. You'll need either a good, clear photo of the old decal or a clean image of the artwork that you want to use. They should be able to take it from there.

I will note that the paintwork on a lot of these older bikes was done pretty well. If the finish is simply dull, but all (or mostly) intact, you might be surprised by how well it can be brought back with polishing compound and then waxing. If it's rusted, that's another story. But I've had old bikes like that shine up to like new again when they were dull and grimey before.

The bike is actually in pretty good shape; I'm almost tempted to not repaint it.

531284_10150885711124684_510749683_9547268_73794275_n.jpg