Time Twister...DONE

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, I decided to jump in with both feet on this. This is not only my first time entering a build off...It's my first time attempting to build at all. I figure Rat-rodding is for me because I have virtually NO budget...but I have a bike....well three bikes actually...kinda.
I have decided that my criteria for this bike is this...
1. I has to look cool!
2. When finished, It still has to be my daily rider...which means...
3. It's gotta have multiple gears and...
4. It has to be comfortable
5. I want it to make people ask questions about what kind of bike it is and how old it is and stuff
As a bonus, I would like a bouncy front end...if possible.
So, I'll be starting with what I was told when I bought it last year was a stock 1981 Schwinn Cruiser 5. I found it on CraigsList in my hometown of Independence, Missouri and got it for $40.00.
I love the frame, hate the forks (What were they THINKING?!)...hate all the messy cables...I have an idea of what I want it to look like and that's about it. I'm thinking RatRace...OH...Why "The Groundhog"? I just have a thing about groundhogs...and that's it. I don't have much to work with or even know what I'm doing really but HERE GOES!

Re: The Groundhog

Here it is in all of it's wrong forkedness glory...the beginning of what shall come to be known as...DUN DUN DUUUUUUN!!!...The Groundhog!
TheGroundhog01.jpg

and I have no cute little bunny pictures, or kitten pictures, only the awe inspiring visage of the most awesome of rodentia...The Groundhog!
Groundhog.jpg

Nice lookin' bike to start with :!:

I'm liking the criteria! That will make a very usable ride. I definitely will be watching. RoCK the Groundhog!