Steer Tube Length Modification

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Renaissance Man

__CERTIFIED DIVER__ (Open Water & Open Dumpster)
Staff member
Pro Member
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
26   0   0
This is one of many possible ways to alter the length of a steer tube. I'm not an expert, so use your own judgement before making any modifications yourself.

The Shockmaster fork that I'm using is from a girl's bike and therefore is too long for a boy's bike. Typically you could section the tube and weld it back, but because this one is in such poor condition, I'm going to use a donor fork. If you need to make your fork longer, you would also need a donor.

The first cut needs to be below the depth of your stem when it's installed at its lowest point. This will prevent the weld from interfering with the stem adjustments. Make this measurement from the top of your desired length, not the current length. I would make this an even measurement from the bottom so that the math is easier in the next step! A pipe cutter works well for this.

100_4122_zps4913c8cf.jpg

After the first cut, measure from the bottom again and then subtract that from your desired length. The result will be the measurement for the next cut from the top half of the donor.

100_4123_zps84802fd8.jpg

After cleaning everything up, chamfer (bevel) the edges of both cuts. Here's a link to help explain why this is important:
http://www.weldguru.com/SMAWNomenclatureandJoints.html

You need to keep everything straight for welding these parts back together. A simple jig for this can be made from a section of angle iron. To keep from crushing the tube with vise clamps, I used a couple of hose clamps. I also marked a center line on both pieces so that the groove would be in the correct position.